B.E.S.T. Award

YASD logoApply for the Young Adult B.E.S.T. Award

B.E.S.T. Award (Bringing Excellence in Service by Teens) was established to honor significant contributions by a teenager in library service.  Each year, there are two winners: one from Nassau and one from Suffolk.  They are chosen by a committee of members of the Young Adult Services Divisions of the Nassau and Suffolk Library Associations. A commemorative plaque and a $150 stipend are awarded annually to a teenager in each county.

To qualify for the B.E.S.T. award, all nominees must:

  • Be a Nassau or Suffolk County resident.
  • Be a volunteer, employee or other affiliate of any library-related organization.
  • Have a library sponsor who submits a recommendation which demonstrates significant library service.
  • Be between 13 and 19 years of age.

— All entries remain the property of their respective YA Division —

Each nominee will receive a certificate of appreciation and letter of commendation from the B.E.S.T. Award Committee.

Previous B.E.S.T. Award Winners

2019Athena AllenUniondale Public Library
2018John (Jack) MillerFarmingdale Public Library
2017Olivia LundeliusGreat Neck Library
2016Frederick GrimshawNew Hyde Park Memorial High School
2015Anthony ChenPlainview-Old Bethpage Public Library
2014Samantha RaggioFranklin Square Public Library
2013Aisha CooperUniondale Public Library
2012Evan SandgrenGarden City High School Library
2011Gina DarnaudLevittown Public Library
2010David KaneRockville Centre
2009Kaitlin QuinnEast Williston
2008Natahalie SouffrantUniondale
2007Andrea CrivelloIsland Trees
2006Sharifa ShorterUniondale
2005Melissa BobeRockville Centre
2004Kriti KathuriaShelter Rock
2003Liora BarzidehShelter Rock
2002Sydney BertleyUniondale
2001Stephanie ElpenrodUniondale
2000Courtney ConnollyRockville Centre
1999Chinwe ErikeUniondale
1998Harry OettingerOyster Bay
1997Melissa IanettaLevittown
1996Thomas SchmittMineola
1995Christina Marie CarboneBayville
1994John DriscollMineola
1993Marvin and Matthew MitchellLong Beach
1992Valerie Sena
1991Larry MergentheimerEast Meadow
1990Claudine JohnsonUniondale
1989Rocco CassanoEast Meadow
1988Heather ScheiberPort Washington
1987Steve GuerraFreeport

Last updated 3/5/20.