LDA Award


The LDA Award was created in 1978 by Mr. Andrew Ippolito, founder of LDA Publishers, Inc., to call attention to the importance of libraries and library people on Long Island. Annually an individual is selected who, through his or her efforts, has enriched the field of librarianship. Librarians, trustees, support staff, friends of the library, vendors, and publishers are all eligible. The selection committee is appointed by the Nassau County Library Association and Suffolk County Library Association. The award is sponsored by LDA Publishers.

Criteria for granting the LDA Award includes one or more of the following:

  • Outstanding achievement in developing and publishing library materials.
  • A long and distinguished service in the advancement of librarianship.
  • An original contribution for promoting the library.
  • Progressive legislative activity.
  • Promotion of intellectual freedom.
  • Creative, innovative utilization of technology.

Access the nominations form.


                2017 Peter K. Ward
                2016 Debbie Podolski
2015 Judith Willner
2014 Renee McGrath
2013 Sandra Feinberg
2012 Mary Westermann-Cicio
2011 Thomas Tarantowicz
2010 Joseph Eisner
2009 Jackie Thresher
2008 Florence Denny
2007 Donald Wilson
2006 Kenneth Weil
2005 Gerald D. Nichols
2004 Mamie Eng
2003 Irving Toliver
2002 Harriet Edwards
2001 Julie Klauber
2000 Herb Biblo
1999 Myron Roochvarg
1998 Sean A. Fanelli
1997 Dorothy Puryear
1996 Albert E. Donor
1995 Arthur L. Friedman
1994 Helen Flowers
1993 Irving Adelman
1992 John Paul Cirino
1991 Annette Bassett
1990 Joseph N. Whitten/Sara Courant
1989 Marion Waswo
1988 Mildred Lowe
1987 Madeline Hendrix
1986 Ruth A. Velleman
 1985 Andrew Geddes
1984 Lucia DePonte
1983 Irene Turin
1982 A. Louis Morse
1981 Caren Donnelly Farkas
1980 Dinah Lindaur/Edith Reisner (posthumous)
1979 Wilfred Morin
1978 Eileen McArthur

Last edited 2/09/2016.